Tags

, , , , ,


I love autumn and everything about it: the calm deep blue sky, the crisp air, the yellowing leaves, the plums and pears and apples, the fresh and juicy hazelnuts, the smell of home-made preserves in the kitchen, the mushrooms – can there be a bigger bliss in this world than sitting down to a bowl of mushrooms braised to softness in onion and cream with a huge chunk of fresh buttered bread? I ask you! I even love it when it starts to get cold and the rain is pummeling on the windows, and you can curl up by the fireplace with a mug of mulled wine and a book. Well, obviously that last point is mostly enjoyable when you don’t have to go out, but still…

Here by way of the calm sky I get a very romantic layer of smog, the crisp air – erm, yes, right… the fruits are all sprayed to perfection with pesticides, the bread that’s supposed to go with my mushrooms – don’t even start me on the subject! – and the only nuts I can afford are the complimentary salted peanuts in the pub I frequent, which constitute a staple of my balanced diet, seeing as I can’t afford the western pub grub. I swear by the time I leave I’ll be heartily sick of them. I suppose I can still count on the ‘cold, windy and rainy’ part, but without the benefits of the fireplace – or a heater, come to think of it. They’re not big on central heating south of the Yellow River…

Still, I find that the autumn season also has its charms here. We’ve been enjoying a few weeks of some lovely weather, perfect for hiking, and when you look around the city, you get to glimpse a fair bit of nature’s delights. Hope you enjoy the photos – and big thanks to my camera for unravelling the splendid macro option before my wondrous eyes.

