Tags

, , , , , , , , ,


 

Visiting a Chinese market is definitely an interesting experience, if not entirely economically wise. I mean, the prices are not at all cheaper than in your regular supermarket – and despite the sense of righteous and wholesome integrity precipitated by buying groceries from local producers, it must be said that in China buying in supermarkets might actually be the healthier option (as you will see when you go for a walk through farmlands and notice bottles on bottles of empty pesticides). Still, worth a go!

Dried fruits and other things, most of them very likely sweet and salty at the same time; a flavour combination that takes some getting used to.

Goods to be cooked. Have to say, for things that are supposed to be meatballs, sausages etc., they look far too colourful to be trustworthy. Never trust pink comestibles, except for strawberry ice cream (and that not always either)!

Multiple versions of tofu.

Dried fish stuffs to add to a well-balanced meal…

Dried dates – a very popular snack that can be added to porridge and sweet dishes or eaten directly. Some Westerners don’t like them, because they’re kind of puffed up and empty inside, but I had no problems.

I predict a short and gloomy future for this little feller…

A leg of… cow? Pork? Oh, shameful ignorance of today’s supermarket youth. I go with piggy, though.

Pig’s trotters. They don’t scare a Pole like me. We boil them to jelly.

And the fish market. This was black magic for me. I’ve no idea what these creatures are. Give me a trout and I’m happy.

An eel-like creature.

A fishmonger at work.

Choosing the tastiest morsel for dinner.

